Available on:
vijay-amazon vijay-amazon-mp3 vijay-itunes

ACT Music presents the exciting debut album by the collaborative trio of Vijay Iyer, guitarist-composer Prasanna, and tabla player Nitin Mitta. Nine original pieces by Vijay and Prasanna launch the group into dynamic, organic improvisations.

“a jazz-informed reflection on the contemporary South Asian diaspora, with three perspectives in creative convergence… a wakeful, radiant performance”
The New York Times

“Tirtha is a triumph; it is a high-water mark in hearing the constantly evolving discussion between jazz and Indian music.”
All Music Guide

“Fascinating… completely absorbing music”
Buffalo News

“Achieving a subtle equipoise of improvisational freedom and compositional rigour, Tirtha is a work of singular imagination.”
The Arts Desk

“staggeringly good” – Charles Farrell, emusic.com